Goit Stock Walk

Knee still aching, but decided to go for a walk to see how it fared.  A real hoar frost this morning and it looked freezing so donned a thick fleece and warm coat.  By the time I had walked up the hill and then down to Goit Stock I was far too warm, especially once under the trees.  Bottle ice on stretches of Leech Lane so careful to avoid those sections!  Not many people about apart from 3 men who seemed a bit lost.  As I stopped to photograph one of the small waterfalls one asked “is that it?” - they had travelled several miles to see the main waterfall and thought they had had a wasted journey.  I explained that the main waterfall was about 10 times the size and once they reached the narrow rocky part of the pathway they would find it.  I stayed a bit behind taking a few photos, and when I reached the main waterfall they were on the metal stairway and down at the water’s edge taking lots of photos.  It is quite a long time since I was up there and it is always lovely to see.  A few icicles were starting to form around the edge, so if the cold weather continues the waterfall itself might start to freeze as it has done in some previous years.  Another collage I’m afraid as lots to see and it is a while since I had any extras in spite of recycling them!  The knee held up and it was lovely to be out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.