The day to start is today

By Traci

The only one :(

In my garden there are hundreds of bulbs of all colours, shapes sizes, and denominations .... and this is it? Beautiful as this daffodil may be, it is leading a lonely existence, and not through choice. My choice that is. Every year we top up the bulbs that are already there, as by the end of the year I can never really remember where they are all going to be popping up again anyway. So special offers abound, in go the extra ones ... just in case. Gradually the garden has been looking more and more spring like every spring, since we cleared the whole thing out after moving in ten years ago (youch no wonder there were quite a few bulbs).

This year it's looking like an old back yard that no one is particularly bothered about and there is no colour, well apart from this one defying the odds and braving the cold to give a blip of yellow to my otherwise fairly lack lustre space. I wouldn't be so concerned but there are no other little hopeful shoots coming through either?

I have heard say that the previous months of slightly over average rainfall (hmmm) may have caused soggy bulb syndrome and many may have rotted through the experience. So I am concluding on that theory for me. During the summer our lawn was like a saturated sponge most of the time, you know when you walk over it and leave a trail of squelchy footprints behind. The grass didn't get cut that often as all the grass just got churned up and mud along with it.

So this blip is dedicated to that lonesome daff who has survived all odds and is looking beautiful in my planter, and may it encourage the other few little shoots in my garden to brave the cold too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.