OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Lingro

A beautiful sunny day here. I cycled along to Scapa pier and saw a group of people with scopes there. I thought a rare bird might have appeared but it was a local birdwatcher who runs field trips for beginner birdwatchers. We saw a couple of great northern divers, three slavonian grebes, red-breasted mergansers, long-tailed ducks etc. I biked around to the beach where there were about twenty bar-tailed and one black-tailed godwits. Hard to see because there were lots of dog-walkers disturbing them. On into town to try and spot the glaucous gull reported there. Plenty of gulls, but not the visitor- then it just appeared from nowhere and floated over my head. I got a couple of shots when it landed- but into the sun so they were record shots only.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.