New light.

2021 is here now and I wish all of you a happy New Year!

Yesterday evening we celebrated it with just the four of us, at home.
And although fireworks were prohibited this year, there was more than enough to be seen outside. Less than previous years, but nonetheless.
To me this confirms how the Dutch are dealing with government rules at ther moment. Stupid people. As if theses rules are about the fireworks... they're not.
Well, enough said.

In went to bed around 0.45 already and woke up around 10.00 am with a headache. I always have that when I sleep too long.
Coffee, some 'oliebollen' and the Wiener Philharmoniker on TV did help.

Normally we visit my parents and in laws on new years day, but since all is different now, todays schedule is different as well.

I phoned my mother and asked if they'd like to come over this evening. Of course they did. So, I'll be picking them up around 19.00 hours. Joke and Peter will be visiting them this afternoon.
My in laws made clear that they'd rather have no visits at all today and of course we obeyed. We'll see them later on, probably after the weekend.

So, we had the afternoon to ourselves and filled it with a lazy Netflix episode 4 of the Sthlm requiem. After that I felt tired again and had the need to go outside.
Some photography maybe? Nah, too little time although the light was getting better and better by the minute. I'm a bit stuck photography wise lately. The weather has been bad for too long now, and when I can go out, I don't know where to go.

Instead I started to sweep my backyard. While doing that I was suddenly drawn to this huge birch tree a few houses away. It was glowing in the warm sunlight suddenly. As if it was on fire. And I felt a whiff of Spring.
I grabbed my camera and my 100-400 lens and captured this decisive moment. 

After a few exposures, the light faded and the moment was gone.
But not for me. All I could think of was 'New Year, New Light' All will be well.
I went back to sweeping and when that was finished I went inside again, feeling much better and refreshed.

Happy New Year! Let's begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.