pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Frozen World

It has been a lovely start to the year as we were outside early doors to install and wire up m’boy’s Christmas present from his nan; a nesting box (complete with camera), in the back yard. 

I’ll be able to keep an eye on it from my desk vantage point and hope to see some tits take up residence in there before too long. 

As we pottered about and Owen steadied the ladder, they noticed that the water in Matilda’s fairy garden had frozen and encased the mini-world and its occupants in ice. The shape of it put me in mind of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld (albeit in the ice age).

It looked quite enchanting before they bashed it to bits shortly thereafter... 

The children asked me earlier as we wandered home from our first walk in the sunshine this year, what my favourite part of the day had been.

I thought about the stone skimming we’d just done, Matilda emptying the river of “pottery”, the nesting box and the hot chocolates we were going to have, before simply telling them that it was this bit right here. Simply being together, outside and having fun in the sunshine. They promptly sandwiched me with their cuddles.

How’s 2021 working out for you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.