One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Lesson almost learnt

At the beginning of last week, I broke a tooth on an almond dragée. They are as delicious as they are rock hard. 
I was very lucky when I called on December 21st to get an appointment for the following morning. He is a great no-nonsense dentist and I dread the day when he will retire (he has looked exactly the same for the past 27 years, I have no idea if he is 60 or 93). 
His secretary called the following morning to check if everything was ok, saying that they'd still be open on the 24th in the morning but would then shut down until the 30th. All was grand. The repair was holding well, thanks to the two pins he has inserted to anchor the filling (there wasn't much tooth left for the filling to cling to...) 
It was actually holding so well that I was sort of surprised when on Christmas Eve I heard a crunch when I bit into... an almond dragée... 


He was good enough to give me an appointment first thing on the day they reopened. 


I did not elaborate on how I had managed to break another bit of the same tooth in such a short space of time. 


What a muppet I am. I deserved to shred the tip of my tongue for five days on the two sharp pins that presided over the crater left behind by my inability to refrain from biting into sugary pieces of rock... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.