Erratic Blips

By Major_Blip

Kinnoull Hill Folly

Usually seen from from on high (see this blip which Murmuration took Iconic View - hope you don't mind me using it) this folly which was built in the eighteenth century by the Ninth Earl of Kinnoull (1710 - 1787) to resemble castles on the Rhine he had admired during his Grand Tour of Germany. Kinnoull saw great similarities between the landscape of the River Tay and parts of the Rhine.


It was built ⅔ size to make the cliffs look even higher, but at around 700ft. I don't think they needed any exaggeration. This was taken from below at Walnut Grove and the extra gives some idea of the drop down to the main Perth to Dundee road. The lady in red was taking a bit of a risk being round this side of the folly.


I was out on the bike when I took this shot. It was a very cold day and cycling was hazardous as only the most major roads were ice/slush free and there was a strong low sun which made seeing the road ahead difficult at times.

Only black cloud on the day was knowing that we have finally left the EU. Maybe Scotland will get to rejoin sometime in the future?


I am determined to be a more regular blipper this year. There I've said it - so now I have to stick to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.