After the rain

We drove through floods to get back to Wanaka today. We returned via Oamaru so I could catch up with one of my sisters and brother-in-law.
Along the Waitaki Valley , the police stopped us as a bridge was about to collapse. We were fortunate to be able to cross over Aviemore Dam, drive up the other side of the lake and cross back over the Benmore Dam.
This photo is taken from the car, on the Tarras -Wanaka road. The rain had stopped. However, it is now heavy again- so I wonder what damage may have been done.
This is not unusual for this time of year, and many campers may have to move from their camping grounds as the waters rise.

Thank you for your comments on yesterday’s photo- I do appreciate you looking at my journal when you can. Hopefully I’ll catch up with some of your journals over the next few days. It’s been a very busy Christmas and New Year period...I need to hibernate for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.