LapsedCanon

By LooseCanon

Village Hall

Emergency Blip today as I am struggling to find a Blip subject on this cold grey day following the fantastic week we have just spent in Cumbria.

One of my roles is as keyholder/bookings person for our Village Hall. This evening I had to show a couple round the hall who are going to use it for their wedding.

The hall has just celebrated it's 90th birthday and this trowel was found by one of the committee members. It seemed appropriate to give it a nice storage box so it is now on display in the hall.

The inscription reads:

Great Alne Victory Memorial Hall
Laying of Foundation Stone
Presented to Walter Lucas Chance Esq J.P.
Nov 7th 1920
W.Norman Twist M.S.A. Architect


I love the word 'Victory' in the inscription. I imagine that is quite unusual and probably a bit non-PC these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.