Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Fairy tale of Blackhall

There are 70 years of fairy on this picture, or added together over 130 years. The top fairy belonged to my mum, she bought it for her 1st Christmas tree after she and dad got married in 1951 and it was always on our family tree. She used to have a green dress but after my sister Freddie took her home, she made her a new dress from a scrap of spare silk from a friend's wedding dress. After Freddie died she came to me and she will go to one of my own girls eventually. The little pink fairy was given to me for Christmas by my god-mother in 1957, just after Freddie was born. Freddie had one two with a blue dress but it has disappeared. My fairy has had hip problems for a couple of years, and has been living in a bag. Today, with the help of a trusty crochet hook and a tiny elastic band I performed hip replacement surgery and all is well once again. Recovery time appeared to be minimal and so she is now happily ensconced, back where she belongs, the second highest fairy on the tree.

Woke to more snow this morning, but not a lot. The temperature has hardly been above freezing for the last few days so it's quite treacherous out.

We've had a quiet day today, apart from fairy repairs we popped down to Stockbridge in the car to pick up a few Mac Reds which are my favourite apples. I wonder if, now that we are no longer subject to the rules of the EU, such varieties might reappear. They mainly come from Canada now and have quite a short season, but I do love them. As a child, I remember a far more limited range of apples to now: red and golden delicious, granny smith's, macintosh reds, coxes and bramleys. There were a few others like russets and Worcesters in the apple season, but those were I think the mainstay. Golden delicious were a more golden colour than those we get today too, now they are quite green. I was never fond of red delicious though I found their texture quite dry.

Stay safe and well everybody. I'm going to avoid meeting people any more than I have to up until the 25th when I hopefully will have my op. I don't want to do anything which might cause it to be cancelled, so it's online church for the next few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.