dfb24

By dfb24

At the Park...

I had such a great time with Mae, but I have to say I'm really tired out, so I'm going to skip commenting today. We played non-stop yesterday, and although I had Mae go to bed at 9 (an hour later than her usual bedtime), she couldn't get to sleep. She said she was used to Noelia being in her room so couldn't sleep in the bedroom by herself--she told me this on one of her dozen or so trips out to the living room--& she never fell asleep until almost 1030. (I KNEW I shouldn't have read "Can't you Sleep Little Bear" to her at bedtime!!) She woke up at 7:30 this morning raring to go! We made breakfast, then we made decorations for the party she was planning for Grandpa & I. She took painters' tape (which I okayed, as it comes right off the wall) & hung the "decorations" all over the house. Then we had the party; chocolate chip cookies and orange juice to start, then she "ordered" Grandpa to play the guitar so she & I could dance, and I have to say I haven't laughed that much in a long time. Later she asked if she could play the guitar while Grandpa and I danced---we, of course, complied, although we danced a lot slower, and we laughed through that too. I was going to take her home after the party, but she started to cry because she didn't want to go home so I said how about if we bundle up and go to the park so that I could get a blip. She was all for it, and said she'd "help" me with the blip since the park had trees & she's been wanting to climb trees "for a really, really long time"! So off we went, and we were both happy--I took pictures & she climbed trees (in the top left picture she's "riding" her "horse".....I named it  "Treeger", after Trigger, Roy Rogers' horse, which Mae didn't get, but it cracked ME up--it doesn't take much! LOL . We were there about an hour, and as we headed for the car she collapsed onto the snow & told me her legs were killing her & could I carry her. I told her if I carried her my BACK would be broken, so she needed to get up because I was racing her to the car, and I took off (if a really, really slow lope can be called "taking off"; the snow was pretty deep), and a few seconds later she shot past me.....works every time. We got in the car, and she begged me not to take her home yet, so what's a grandma to do......I took her to McDonalds & we picked up some lunch, then went back to the park where I pulled to the side of the road and we ate our food. THEN I took her back home but when my daughter opened the door to the apartment she burst into tears......my daughter asked her what was wrong, & she threw her arms around me and said "I don't want grandma to go"!  My daughter looked at me, grinning, and said to Mae: "Did grandma tire you out and you didn't get enough sleep"?  "No" said a sobbing Mae. I poked my head into the apartment to say hi to my sil and Noelia, gave my daughter and sobbing Mae a hug, told them all I loved them and left. I heard later that Mae had a nice nap and was feeling fine! Grandma's going to bed early tonight & then SHE'LL be feeling fine too!  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.