Tribute to Disabled Veterans

I went to see a memorial late this evening that I'd not seen before in DC (although the literature says it was inaugurated in 2014...). I know I've walked past there many times, so I'm puzzled.  

Anyhow, the memorial is to American Veterans from all branches of the service who became disabled for life in combat. From the write up on the 2.5 acre memorial memorial: "The centerpiece of the memorial is the star-shaped fountain and triangular reflecting pool with a ceremonial flame at the center of the star. Tributes and stories of servicemen and women are told through 48 etched glass panels featuring photographs and quotations, and four large bronze sculptures [...] to “help interpret the challenges and feelings of the disabled veteran: call of duty and pride in service; trauma of injury; healing; and renewal of purpose.”

I got there as the sun was setting and the sky was gloriously reflected in the pool of the monument.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.