Firmly locked down

I tried to go to see Middleton Hall on a misty morning a week or so ago, but the big gate was closed. Today, you could drive as far as the Courtyard where the little shops and take away cafe are to be found. 

The Hall itself is firmly locked and bolted. It’s a popular wedding venue and, of course, there’s no business. It’s lovely to visit when it is open - and I particularly love the gardens. No chance of seeing them for some time I fear. 

But the walk back to the main gate is a delight. Today, I was shouted at by a noisy squirrel and I spent quite a time trying to decide if the huge white bird was a heron or, as I suspect, an egret. They are regular visitors to the RSPB reserve a mile or so away. I’ve emailed a photo to my brother who will know. 

A lovely morning. And no snow as yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.