Murie

I blipped this many moons ago when it had a roof and I stood at the front door.  I think way back in 2011 but need to check.

My grandfather lived here along with his siblings and parents for a number of years before they moved to a bigger house about half a mile away.  Looked at the old map and the wood across the road which is mainly firs wasn’t there but plenty of native trees around.  It’s fascinating to me that he actually walked around here.  Behind the house now there is a Polo field recently set up.  

Sadly, when we walked further up to the old burial mound we saw the Celtic cross memorial had been demolished by a big tree branch which had been struck by lightning in 2017 (I later found out).  I have a blip of this too from waaaaay back in the days when I used my proper camera!

The area here will soon be covered in snowdrops, such a pretty area of the Carse of Gowrie.

Link to the cross and mound which also has a link to the cottage in better condition https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/937749

Interesting to note looking so far back in my blip journey the amount of interaction on the blips!  I wonder if newbies nowadays have so much?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.