Stellar Nursery

This photograph wasn't taken today. Well, some of the photons were captured on my sensor in the early hours of this morning, so I think it qualifies for today. It is a stack of 30 second exposures giving a total exposure time of about 1hour 30mins.
The sky conditions have been poor during collection, glare from a full moon, light pollution, thin cloud, the lens dewing up etc. etc. Anyway, despite the noise and burning out of some of the brighter areas here is the Orion Nebula, a huge star forming region of gas and dust 1500 (ish) light years away.
It is one of the highlights of the winter sky in the northern hemisphere, visible to the naked eye and a great binocular target.
My aim, if the weather permits, is to get 5 or 6 hours worth of good quality exposures which will give me the chance to bring out more detail and have a less noisy image.
Space is awesome.

On another note, I have turned off comments for a while as I feel bad when I don't get round to replying to you. I'll get back to it soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.