The Loneliness of the Night Cashier

Many years ago we had a friend called Nick. Nick worked the night shift at the old Jet filling station on Newmarket Rd in Cambridge. At the time I was working nights as a computer dogsbody just round the corner, so I would drive over and take my break with him. Nothing like sitting in a freezing hut at 3am watching re reruns of Prisoner Cell Block H while eating a Pot Noodle. Simple times. We saw many amusing things from that window.

This is another failed attempt at some sort of Hopper style, I really hope the dead don't see social media as I suspect he'll be getting mildly annoyed by now.

Not however as annoyed as we are getting with this new level of lockdown. Of course we all knew it needed to happen weeks ago, quite why Boris can't grow a spine and do the right thing at the right time is beyond me.

I was also dismayed to read that a hospital has had to remove people who were taking photos of empty corridors, they were then posting the shots online claiming the hospitals were quiet because it is all a hoax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.