today's another day

By dbrereton

Victorious

This was my brilliant christmas present from my sister.

I have known this existed since childhood, and as soon as I unwrapped it knew what it was. It now hangs above my piano, the perfect place for it.

So, what is it?

Well, it was always knocking around at home in one of my mum's sewing bags. Occasionally it would be seen, then go back in a bag.

It was a present mum made for dad, I'm not sure when, or if it was ever finished, but it's great. Now, if you are from the north, and particularly near Manchester, and you factor in that my dad was a rail enthusiast then you may get close.

The lines are indeed lines, railway lines, and these are the ones that terminate and pass through Manchester Victoria prior to its rebuild.

It wouldn't look out of place in the signal box to the east of the station, or as shown to the right of the bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.