lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

On every corner

Didn't do much today, it is cold, grey and uninspiring. We watched Skyfall on DVD wrapped in duvets. I walked as far as the international supermarket next to the train station. It's an amazing shop, packed with a mix of exotic foods and your normal supermarket fare. Every type of spice you could imagine, huge yams and plantains, tins of cheese, half an aisle of packaged olives, many types of salami and a butchers and Turkish bakery. I love browsing in there, I always spot new things I've never seen before. They also have every kind of fruit juice imaginable and are open till 11pm every night.

Sadly I saw today that Sainsbury's are opening a local store opposite, on the ground floor of some flats. There is a big Sainsbury's at the other end of the high street and a Tesco Express, Iceland and Lidl in between. I don't normally mind progress too much but this looks to threaten the international supermarket with its huge array of produce. People still prefer the familiar chains they recognise to independent stores.

Tonight I've been mostly watching TV and trying not to think about work. The adverts on TV keep reminding me about work though.

I am really hoping the weather improves so I can get some photos. I get grouchy when I don't spend enough time outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.