time stands still - again

My watch stopped last night.  Spooky - perhaps it couldn't face yet another ministerial broadcast.  

There is so much I could say, but I won't.  My mother brought me up to be well-mannered.  As a child and on my way to school, the neighbours would remark that I always took my school cap off when calling at their door for friends; "Your Igor always takes his cap off when he calls for our Alan".  This was a source of much pride on her part.

I've already lost track of the days.  They just seem to merge into one.  I have to ask Anniemay to remind me.  And now I've lost track of the hours.  

This is the downside of battery operated time pieces.  The jeweller in the High St has closed indefinitely, so a replacement battery will not be forth-coming any day soon.  Perhaps the upside is that I will be well-prepared for the future.

When the apocalypse finally comes and we're forced to live in culverts, time will simply be measured in periods of light and dark.  I'll be well ahead of the game.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.