peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Food for the Soul

My South African friend Gavin Paul, who tragically passed away last year, referred to Richmond Park as food for the soul from the time he had spent some years living in London. I hadn't been to the park for far too long and so I had resolved to go this morning for a couple of hours whatever the weather.
Having walked there in the face of a fairly cold wind and with a steady drizzle starting to fall the moment I went through the gates I was starting to have serious second thoughts.
Almost three hours later, though still cold and a little damp, I felt completely transformed. From the photographic point of view the trip was largely wasted as the light varied from filthy to abysmal, but simply to be outdoors in a green space and reconnecting with some wildlife was just what I needed.

This robin, which from its slightly speckled head I think was still quite young, was so intent on thrusting its beak into the mud to catch worms that it came within two or three metres of me. I've included the extra of it sitting in a bush simply because I could!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.