Point de Vue

By Alsacienne

Ominous

The skies today looked the way I feel: full of dread. What is happening in the US right now is beyond the pale. 

For the first time ever in my 39 years here, the mayor of DC issued an order for everyone to stay out of the downtown area, because of protests by the far right, aka Trump supporters.  (There were some today already, but the big ones will be tomorrow as the Congress validates the votes Biden got). The order included a reminder of Washington DC's laws when it comes to bearing arms, which, together with the chatter on social media, makes this very ominous. For the last 15 years of my career, I worked on my organization's Emergency Management Team, coordinating with the various law enforcement agencies in DC, and I've never seen something like that.  Even the group of street photogs of which I'm a part in DC has collectively decided to stay away from these events.  

What a world...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.