LornaL

By LornaL

Poem: Sonnet

Sonnet

For you, only for you, I bowed my mind
From its faint-starred way among my dreams
To the well-trodden pathways that we find
Leading to misery among the gleams
Of unattained ambition (faith unsworn
With open lips, pledged in a silent will)
I find a justified intent, a longing born
Of love and pity - my reminders still -
But I have failed so ill that would so well
Have won for you. What have I to show
Except my selfish weariness of self
The ache of inefficiency - pain of the Hell
Wherein I move a twin? Save I might grow
In loving you more worthy of myself

We believe that this is one of the last poems that Lorna wrote, most likely in 1941. (See also the poem blipped on 1st April 2020. The takes on more meaning with knowledge that Lorna was seriously ill in 1941.)

Thank you to everyone for the kind comments on yesterday's sad revelation about Lorna. Over the next few days we have a few more treasures to blip, and will also reveal the identity of the team members who have produced this blipfoto journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.