The New Desk Arrives - Some Assembly Required

I ordered a new desk online on December 30, and it arrived on this day. My husband was outside and he came to the front door and said, "Come get your desk." It was delivered by two Fed Ex guys around lunchtime; the larger dude picked the 75-pound box up on his shoulder like it was nothing. They left it at the top of the drive way and my husband and I carried that big sturdy box up two sets of steps. Let me tell you this: It was HEAVY.

Before the afternoon was out, T. Tiger insisted that we open the big box to see what was inside. And so we took everything out of the packaging, and discovered a few things: 1) they sent me the walnut one instead of the black one I ordered, 2) all pieces and parts were in good condition, with nary a scrape nor a mar, and 3) all pieces were neatly labeled with numbers. (The little OCD girl who lives inside me was deeply pleased by this.)

I decided in short order that the walnut one will do just fine, and in fact, it may actually fit our decor better than the black one would have. There is a $20 difference in pricing, though, between the two colors, so I will follow up with the company to be sure I am charged the lower price. (Oddly enough, the charge has not hit my credit card yet, but I will keep checking.)

And tomorrow, we will put the desk together! Hooray!

For my soundtrack tune, I wanted something about starting a new project, which this sort of is. My song is Michael Jackson, with Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.