My Angle

By myangle

Cast Iron Welding - Crown No7

Talk about trying to make a silk purse from a pigs ear. Trying to weld a massive crack on a cast iron stove panel is not easy. I am thinking more like a hessian purse from a pigs ear. It won't be pretty but it will be functional.

The problem with weld in cast iron, even with the right welding equipment, is cracking due to the heat from the weld cooling down too fast. To get around that I heat the stove panel over an open fire, ironically on another stove. It works to a point. The welds have taken nicely but I have still had a few other small cracks appear, which I duly weld up, only to discover more cracks. The trick is taking it slow. Very slow. One little spot weld every couple of minutes to reduce the chance of heat build up.

Bored yet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.