A caterpillar in the beak is worth two in the bush

Twelfth Night so the Christmas decorations were taken down and put away. The tree had roots so I've put it outside in case it survives until next year (apparently a lot don't survive as the roots are cut to fit the pot).

It's been cold all day but was very icy and slippery first thing with snow flurries.  There have been a lot of birds in the garden and at the feeders today - I counted thirteen different species.  

I saw this little wren shaking a caterpillar and hitting it against the branch of my grapevine.  I think that it's a winter moth caterpillar which would have damaged the leaves and fruit later in the year. It's a big vine though so I doubt that it would have done much damage.  A good meal for the wren though. 

This afternoon I went for a walk around the village when the pavements were less slippery.  It was very quiet at the castle due to lockdown and I saw a police car cruising round the car park as it's a place that attracts visitors.  I was pleased about that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.