We three kings from Orient are.....

Today is Epiphany when the tree kings, or wise men arrive at the crib with their gifts of Gold, Myrrh and Frankincense!  To celebrate this it is a tradition in France to 'draw the kings' - i.e. to make a galette with a fêve in it and the person who gets this is the king for the evening and chooses his Queen!

I duly made a simple version of the galette (puff pastry and marzipan filling) and took it over to the girls , Mum cut it into 6 and we had our  pieces outside looking into their house!  Grandbaby was the King.  At that point we left walking very gingerly as the road is very like a skating rink!

The main photo of the Magi's arrival in the crib is for Wide Wednesday - a song title with many thanks to Bob for hosting!  

Digital group today.  We tried to colourise old sepia photos.  I didn't actually finish my photo but I understand the method.  See extra.  My Grandfather and Grandmother and four of their children.  Not sure of the exact date but my mother was not yet born so pre 1915.  The eldest Edouard, was killed when he was 19 in the sinking of 'L'Afrique' in 1920  It was his first voyage.  My Grandfather and Tonton Robert I have left uncoloured.

It has been a beautiful day with lots of sun.  By the time we were going out for our walk the temperature had dropped so we didn't take our usual walk past the cricket field but a different one through streets!  On the whole not too bad but bitterly cold.

Big Ted and Ro and I all received letters/drawings from the girls!  Tomorrow he must answer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.