Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Out late ...

Actually everything about today was late. I even woke late, because I finished my book last night and lay down to sleep feeling totally awake - fatal. So breakfast was late, and then I had to make sourdough which I'm now sitting up waiting for as it bakes and midnight has just struck. I had to revive my dreaded Generic Shopping List because the Shopping Angel is once more on duty - even in our relatively Covid-lite area there are 22 new cases today. And once I'd sent that off to her, it was already midday and we had two hymns to record in church. 

While I was there, I dismantled the Advent Wreath, disposing of the purple-wax-spattered greenery down the steep bank that drops to the road below. I don't know how many years of discarded flowers and greenery have ended up down there, but the trees seem to flourish on it. By the time I'd done that and lugged the metal stand back into the dunny my hands were completely frozen. Still managed to sing, though. 

A quick lunch was followed by a phone call which told us that for the first time since all this started we now actually know people who are ill with Covid. That sobering news meant that once again we were walking into the sunset when we finally got out, and because there is nowhere else with any view of the light we were back at the south of the peninsula again. I'm blipping the view from Toward Sailing Club, where two ornamental benches sit well-place for the view. By the time we were heading back along the road it was almost dark, which is slightly scary when you're not wearing hi-viz stuff. 

The shopping appeared at 7.30pm, by which time we 'd eaten dinner - we're usually just sitting down to it by then. I'm beginning to realise that the gap in our fish deliveries means I'm rootling around for things to eat, especially tomorrow. I'm thinking pasta, maybe some of the mushroom glut I seem to have acquired, some pesto ...

But now the bread is ready* and I can go to bed. I'm glad I don't live in the USA just now - appalling news. I hope Nicola sticks to her guns and prevents Trump from coming to Scotland. Feel the world is a scary place tonight.

*It's not. Ready, I mean. I'm trying baking it in the Le Creuset casserole as a sort of Dutch Oven, and the top looks soggy. I may be some time ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.