Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Clowning

I had written phone cameras off pretty much entirely until now. But I am presently trying to see what sort of always-on-hand blip tool one might make. Most of you almost certainly know about the gimmicks they use to simulate "big" cameras. But I had no idea.

Take for example the matter of background blur. Having only tiny sensors, phones tend to show almost unlimited depth of field - even at relatively wide apertures. But the A51 has this "live focus" slider which enables one to dial in varying amounts of artificial "large sensor style" dof. 

Once again not a lot of care has been taken to match the two compositions exactly but I did allow an item in the top left of each frame to show more clearly what I mean. What a cool little gimmick. Love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.