DIY

Woke up to snow but only a few centimetres. Managed to get Angie to agree to re-write the Star Singer Epiphany house blessing over the front door using the Corona DIY set I had picked up last night in the village church (see Extra Photo)

I trust nobody seeing today's photo thinks it is for 2027. I couldn't do it myself as I can't - even after 30 years in Germany - write the number "1" in German!

It snowed lightly all day and became apparent that it had to be cleared although it is not deep enough to be a nuisance to a mouse. It was getting a bit warmer, hovering just under 0°C and the same forecast for tomorrow. That means it will get wet and everytime we walk or drive on it,  it will compact. Not itself a problem but at the weekend it is due to be very cold with maximum daytime temperatures of -5°C and thus it will be turned into an ice rink, not only dangerous for us people but also the animals particularly the horses.

So it was I had to get the snowblower out but at least I knew it would work after my autumn check. Went to start it and 2 hours later eventually got to start work! Everything went wrong - wouldn't start, flat tyre, drive belt fell off .... you name it. It was now past dusk but luckily Angie agreed to walk Luna while I worked.

And it kept on snowing, but the forecast said it would stop soon. In the extra photo collage you can see the "Forth Bridge" effect. Had finished clearing but there was now a layer of fresh snow on the cleared area. It didn't stop ..... all night but again only minimal nuisance amounts!

Was shattered when I came to eat shortly before 9:00 pm, watching the scenes from the Capitol in USA but I fell asleep on the sofa until 3:00 am!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.