Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Last night I found I couldn't watch catchup because my NowTV stick wouldn't connect to the wifi. This morning that was still the case and I spent a couple of hours trying this thing and then the other until eventually, and inexplicably, it connected.

But earlier...  The central heating came on this morning, but an hour later there was no hot water and the radiators were getting colder instead of hotter. There was an error message so I texted the plumber as it wasn't anything I could do myself, and I put extra clothes and the gas fire on.

I'd just sorted the wifi out when the plumber arrived, apparently his day was full of boilers not working! The problem was that the condensed water was freezing in the outlet pipe at some point - goodness knows where exactly but he assumed under the bathroom floor. The short term solution was to cut the pipe and catch the drips in the airing cupboard and he'd come back in a few weeks and run a new outlet pipe under the landing, and at the moment I'm not ready to have it carpeted up there anyway.

Lunch, then a quick walk to allow wallpapering time when I got back, but as I glanced up at the side of the house on my way out I noticed the downpipe had lost a bracket. Actually it might not have been there for a while, it definitely hasn't fallen off since March when I moved in.

I popped next door as last summer my neighbour had mentioned a roofing firm he'd always used, because our combined guttering has needed attention for a while, and now the shared downpipe too.

On the plus side I've now given the shoe unit two coats of varnish, and it probably needs two more, but the papering will have to wait until Saturday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.