On the way to Southeastwindow

Shortly after lunch I felt in need for fresh air and hopefully some sunlight. Even during these greybrown days  a walk could bring some hunch, unexpected viewpoint or remarkable trouvaille. Nothing special, by the way. You may even take the same  way as yesterday – which I didn’t.  Downstairs I  followed the eastern riverside. But now for the first time this new year I wanted to reach the Fishercabin at Southeastwindow.
Though not recently, I followed the  footpath and then the muddy track, we have been walking  together uncountable times. Never a dull always the same affair.
You can take a moment of rest and sit down on a bench, look around. Not too long . The wind blows through your jeans.  Then, near the ruined sheepshed I  saw  a couple of browngrey  spots. What? Sheep? Are they back on their old feeding grounds? No, as  I come nearer I see three unknown  creatures.  Wetcoated , looking a bit curious in my direction.
Clearly not our old herd so wellknown for years and years. I couldn’t find them anymore  after Summersolstice.  “Willemien will have taken them with her”, I used to say to my daughter as they had vanished without a trace.
Hey, there you are, I smiled to  my unknown new friends. They looked back, quite indifferent and stayed back. Never mind, I thought, nice to meet you strangers. And then I went on to the turningpoint at Southeastwindow. There  I stood for while, lost in memories, looking upstram into the distant rivervalley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.