Genetta

By Genetta

Stinky Fish Crackers

Ever since I watched an episode of an obsession show about a woman eating cat treats I have been looking for a recipe to make my own without all the byproducts and yucky stuff. I was amazed at what the doctor on the show had told her about the treats and they were the same ones I feed my cats.

An online friend & I read some magical mystery cat books and the lead lady in the book makes Stinky Crackers for her cats. The recipe is on the authors website so I though I would give it a try.

Dumping those sardines into my food processor was nasty. But I made it through. The dough stunk so badly. I first made little bitty bites then got tired of that and rolled it out like cookie dough and used my mini fish cookie cutter.

After the first round cooled I offered one to the cats. Lucy licked it, drooled, purred and walked away. She was not interested. Shadow sniffed it, looked up at me like I was nuts and walked away. Drats! So I had a little bit more dough left and I added catnip. They didn't like this version either.

Live and learn. Problem is even with opening a window in every room all day my house still smells fishy. And now I have a bag of kitty treats that I need to figure out what to do with.

At least the stench got me out in my garage and its all organized and clean now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.