twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Knowing we were likely to be dispensed with around lunchtime / early afternoon, there was little incentive to start at 7. So instead I took the list of the last remaining bits for Christmas and slithered up to Morrisons. 

Even at that ungodly hour, there was a steady stream of shoppers but I was able to secure all that was needed.

And home for a leisurely breakfast (who am I kidding - WFH I always manage a breakfast at some point....!) 

I also managed to read the Acceptable Use of IT policy to kill some time (and tried to find out who had done what to necessitate us having to read it again so soon - but to no avail)

And at 1130, the message came through to not come back after lunch. I got on with the stollen, the toffee and the red cabbage.

And by mid afternoon (after a sleep, too) I was ready to hit Her's. I managed to grab some beers for her lad as well. 

I had about a dozen things to wrap; and then - peace. I cooked us some prawns; we had Her first drink in 32 days - a cheeky wee chablis; suitably chilled. And a present swap - seeing as we were unlikely to get to see each other on Christmas Day. I declared myself satisfied with the gifts; as was She.

And it was a toasty warm cycle home in the new jacket, dodging church goers heading out of church on the cold and frosty night.

Dawn breaks as the early birds take their turkeys home to stuff them

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.