More Family Fun

My sister M is the Queen of Grandmothers, in my opinion, and her 3-year-old granddaughter EV's sparkling eyes attest that she feels the same way too.

M and I had an uneventful four-hour drive from Austin to Corpus Christi this morning, with one rest stop that yielded this classic piece of Texas kitsch, which I managed to resist.

After a quick lunch, we went to a fine production of Euripedes' The Bacchae, presented by the Department of Theatre & Dance at Texas A & M University Corpus Christi. M's son A (seen here with his niece EV after supper tonight) was splendid as the blind prophet Tiresias. It was the first time I'd seen him on stage, and I was very impressed by his performance.

We spent some time with A after the play, and then the three of us met his older brother D and EV for supper. Here's a photo of EV -- who had been to a birthday party earlier, hence the festive garb -- with her Uncle A and her father, D.

D and EV came back to our hotel with us after supper, and M and I alternated chatting with D and reading/playing with EV. It's late now, and time to get ready for bed, where our dreams will, I hope, be filled with the love and fun we had this day, and not scenes from the Greek tragedy we saw.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.