Quayquilter

By Quayquilter

Millennium Quilt

This quilt which was made 1999-2000 to mark the millennium goes on my bed right after Twelfth Night. It contains 2000 different 2" scraps, the majority from my stash but many as swaps too. I made blocks 4 squares by 5, 20 in all, starting in the centre with pinks and the lightest backgrounds moving out through various colours alternating with light to mediums around the middle. The colours on the outside edge are all plains. I was living in Malaysia that year with a 6' spare bed to lay it out and the the floor for the last round when I had to tell my husband not to switch the ceiling fan on when he got home. When I returned to the UK a friend helped choose the blue inner border and then I made the crazy last border, with red for war, parchment for knowledge and turquoise for the environment with the dark for the unknown future. I made loads of these crazy foundation pieced units with extras making a double bed quilt for my daughter, now worn out! It's handquilted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.