Bradders

By Bradders

Awesome day

So yesterday I drove 4ish hours from Albany to Augusta to go kiting with Jamie, the wind was so strong, between 30 and 35 knots at times and gusty. I just couldn't handle it and had to abandon the session after half an hour, I still have a lot to learn about kiting in low and high wind.

I sat in the sun (and wind) and enjoyed watching the other kiters doing insane jumps up to 18m high. Augusta is so lovely, we went to a cafe afterwards and it's just so picturesque and quaint.

Last night we camped in the local campsite. Everything about this place has relaxation all over it, or maybe I'm just in a really relaxed mood.

Today we were nervous about the high winds so we went further down the coast a little and found a gem of a location to kitesurf, just off the tip of Cape Leeuwin there is an island that gave us shelter from the waves but let us have the full force of the wind.

We messed around there for over two hours until I lost a sock while trying a jump (possibly this photo) and I had to return in case my foot got sunburnt.

After another lovely lunch at another cafe we set off back to Perth. Took me about 5 hours as I needed to take it slow after a tiring week of adventuring.

Tuesday was a tidy up and pack day, and I also had minor surgery to remove a suspicious mole on my back, Wednesday back to work for a week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.