The saga of the hearing aids.

It's the only photograph I've taken today so have to say something about it!
These are F.M.i.L's hearing aids. She's very deaf without them but the NHS hearing services made her new moulds, can't remember why this was deemed necessary but they did it.
Ever since she has complained that the right ear mould gives her pain in her ear while the left one just doesn't seem to work very well.
This has been going on for quite a while so I had a go at them myself, I always change the batteries for her so this was just and extension of my expertise, or so I thought..
She then started to complain that the right one kept falling out because the brown bit, with the battery and electronics, wouldn't stay behind her ear. I said it was because she wears a headband to keep her hair off her face and it pushes it off her ear.
So, last week we compared the old moulds with the new ones and noticed there is a difference in size with the new, right hand, mould being slightly larger hence the pain she experienced.
I took it, and all of the moulds each with a noted attached explaining what the problem was, to the Hearing Services at Gloucestershire Royal Hospital. Dropped them off for investigation and repair.
They were returned, by post, within two days with a detailed, handwritten, note about the problems and all tubes sorted out.
It turned out that the right aid kept falling off her ear because, in trying to sort them out, I had inadvertently put the Right Ear Mould on the Left electronic device. The devices are the same but the tubes go in different directions so I have to hold my hands up to that one!
The hurting one was a different matter and, after speaking to the hearing services yesterday I dropped F.M.i.L. and Marlane off at the hospital this afternoon and they trimmed the right ear mould and it appears, so far, that all is well. 
At least since returning from the hospital we can have a conversation with her and she can actually hear us. 
Oh the wonders of modern technology, as long as I don't interfere with it of course!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.