horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Milk Hare

When I was a kid I used to try and make my own comics. I was inspired by the likes of 'Oink!' (bonus points if you can remember that one), though loved the art in things like 2000AD as well.

At the start of 2020, reading a couple of books on Norse myths, legends and gods, the tale of the Milk Hare grabbed me. Basically a witch's familiar who stole milk from cows, sheep and goats in the fields for his mistress. I doodled a wee character, and wondered how it might work for a graphic novel. And so here I am, after slogging through various illustration things for other people and work through 2020, this is my project for 2021 (and it's gonna take all year).

Doodling in A3 is something of a novelty (and the pros often work even bigger in A2). I'm really just at the stage of working out my story, and some character development, and I'll be breaking all sorts of comic art rules, but looking deeper, there aren't really any rules.

A decade ago I read Persepolis, and the drawing in that was pretty basic, but it worked with the story, and was beautifully graphic. So I'm doing what 'I' want to do with this, and to hell with anything else.

(this still has pencil lines to be erased, and backgrounds to be detailed, then scanned, and printed to book size to make sure it's readable....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.