Fèves!

These are examples of little ceramic presents you could find in your ‘Galette des rois’ on the 6 January when celebrating Épiphanie in France.
Scoop, le docteur Doppler, and Jim were from a Disney film ‘TreasurePlanet’.  The most interesting one I think is the Croque-mort!  Croquer is to crunch as you might an apple.  A mort is a dead person.  A croque-mort is an undertaker and the name derives from the fact that they would bite the toe of the dead person to check they were really dead!   The pain is supposed to wake anyone not dead!  I remember my Tante Marie telling one of my cousins that he was to be her croque-mort! Not at all sure what happened when she did die! 

When I make a galette I use a little ball of clay that is used for blind baking.   (On the little plate). There are many many different fève.  A collector of these is a fabophile .  If you Google ‘fève épiphanie’ you can see a selection! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.