Just Add To Coffee

After this week’s shocking events in Washington, I thought I would comment on the State Of America’s average cup of coffee in the late 20th century.

This came to mind as I was preparing my morning 3 mugs of Lavassa, which is an every day event for me.

I will tell you a secret. Pat cannot make a decent coffee. It is quite unbelievable, considering the never ending number of culinary masterpieces that flow out of her kitchen.

It is now 20 years since I ventured over the Atlantic. The only way I will be able to do that is on a liner thanks to an on-the-ball GP whose suspicion about my frequent bouts of pneumonia led to the discovery of a rare lung anomaly which stops me from flying at all.

Back to the coffee. Prior to the anomaly I had been to the States on many occasions and travelled around several states by car, train and plane.

During all these travels I never did drink a recognisable cup of coffee. They were weak, muddy, and without any coffee taste.

Back to Scotland and my daily encounter with Italian Coffee.  Lavassa was recommended to me by an Italian Priest who ministered at the Episcopalian Church in Dunblane.

He was right. It is pretty good coffee (other brands are available).

After three mugs for breakfast I sometimes suffer from a touch of indigestion which leads to today’s Blipfoto.

Adding a 5ml spoonful of baking powder to a little cold water in the pot removes the slight acidity of the coffee.

The first time I did this, I put it on top of the ground coffee. Not a good idea!

The baking powder tin is somewhat "vintage" but I like the graphics and it has been reused over many years.

Many containers which are delivered by the supermarket can easily be repurposed or reused. Of course, recycling by the local authorities dictate that glass is put into a bottle bank. Plastics is recycled although much cannot be and ends up as landfill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.