Geil

What a day! Sun, sun, sun and then as I took off with Luna for a lovely late afternoon walk in Ottobeuren, Angie started cooking a roast pork dinner with lovely home-made Bavarian "Semmelknödel".

The walk was a joy if a bit slippery in places as many had gone before us but we were alone. If there was a bit more snow, the town council would have prepared the cross-country skiing tracks along most of the paths we followed.

I have in the past Bliped the walk to the south of the town with the lovely old mill, so today just a simple long-range shot of a father and son sledging. I don't think the horse and walker had been pulling people up the slope all afternoon. Lifts are closed in Bavaria but I often take a peek at the daily live cams from loads of Bavaria and northern Austria that are shown the whole, daylight, day on Bavarian TV's webpage. There the Austrian ski slopes are doing business although I thought they were in almost stronger lockdown than we are.

However, this evening saw in the news that loads of people had gone to the tourist areas in Bavaria to enjoy the snow and sun. Been a bit of a backlash about those driving long distances e.g. from Munich. Monday this will be limited by law. I empathise with them so long as they just walk, cross country ski, toboggan AND keep their distance and naturally no hospitality BUT it just takes a couple of idiots and everything is again in jeopardy. So end up having to say, stay at (near) home.

Back home exactly as the crackling was being divided out - I think Angie had "tested" it well before I arrived. My "half" looked like a quarter!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.