The Way I See Things

By JDO

Marmalade season

A dreich day: damp, cold, and dark. Outdoor photography was never going to happen, but luckily I had the ingredients to hand for a couple of batches of marmalade. I'm slightly dubious about the oranges, if I'm honest - the current "Marmalade oranges; produce of Seville" doesn't seem quite as unequivocal as the old "Seville oranges". But we are where we are, and I daresay I'll manage to produce something acceptable from them.

I confess that I didn't actually get round to making any marmalade today - though it may happen tomorrow, if I'm still in as bad a mood then as I am right now - but I did do some other cooking. For most of the day the kitchen was tantalisingly scented by sausages seething in caramelised onion gravy in the slow cooker; and I also made a couple of batches of meatballs in spiced tomato sauce for the freezer. So I feel that my cooking credentials stand up to at least cursory scrutiny.

In other fruit-related news, today was the day when I finally replaced my ancient, steam-powered phone. Interestingly, when I placed the order yesterday the delivery day being quoted was next Tuesday. But then the order acknowledgement said the phone would be delivered on Monday; and this morning I got up to a text telling me that it would arrive today, unless I chose to reschedule. Over the years I've had my disagreements with the Fruit Corporation, but to my mind that's an excellent demonstration of managing customer expectations to best effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.