Now you see them

Then you didn't. Just as I couldn't resist blipping Pippa yesterday, I thought I had to blip these daffodils after featuring them in bud the other day.

I'm enjoying working on the lighting although this was the simplest of "studio" shots: a curtain of black velvet hung behind the daffs that stand where they do stand, illuminated by a kitchen down light. Then a couple of small spots to light up the front and underside. I tried one with diffused light but Gill preferred a little more drama.

I don't like to go into health issues here but I had a scare this morning when I had blurred vision so Gill got me a quick appointment with the optician. Whatever was causing it had cleared up by the time I got there and he couldn't find any underlying issues except to say that I had the beginnings of cataracts that he kind of back-pedalled on when he saw the look of panic in my eyes - he said it was a long way off being a problem. I mentioned my tinnitus - another issue that has emerged this past few weeks - but he wasn't interested in that. No one is. Before I turned up, the receptionist had told him I had lost my sight completely and he seemed disappointed that I didn't need a white stick. Still, he was very thorough and made me an appointment with the eye clinic so that I can waste their time too.

All I could conclude from the visit was that my hypochondria is as healthy as it ever was. The optician put drops in my eyes and told me I'd have blurred vision for the rest of the day, so I hope these daffs are sharp enough. I left the focus to the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.