Angella

By Angella

My turn to watch

We went again to Middleton Lakes RSPB reserve. It was very dull indeed, but there was much less mud this time. It was still worth wearing wellies though.

This time it was my time to watch, camera in hand, as a robin ate out of A's hand. It was in a different place, but as soon as they saw us they landed close by. On the way back I managed to have one eat out of my hand, but not on my hand. They seemed quite hungry. Next time we'll take mealworms for them.

The work going on at the site seems to have kept birds away. There were very few on the lakes. A new habitat is being created, which meant 5 diggers were working rather noisily on one part of the site. They were moving vast amounts of soil.

Still the bird feeders were full of birds, herons were landing in the heronry and woodpeckers could be heard in the wooods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.