Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Cosi Van Tutte

A gift from friend full of almondy biscuits as she knows I love all things italian

Extra is schedule of online classes starting next week. I think I need to start Beginners Italian but Art History is tempting too

I have always loved the whole idea of Italy and have been there 3 times. I hope I can go again. The food, the weather, the clothes, the food.

Don’t read any further if you are sensitive as bad language alert

When I was 19, two of my friends decided we should go for our hols to Italy. One of them who was great at organising things booked us into a resort called (can’t remember, it will come to me) - I said grand so - hadn’t a clue where I was going as we boarded the plane.

The hotel was family run and it was grand (not sure if it would have trended on tripadvisor now though) ha ha

So on day 3 I saw a notice about hiring motorbikes and heading off into the mountains.

Noooo way said my friends. So I said grand, I will go myself and am sure there is a group I can join. Anyway to cut ALSS I had a bad fall off the motorbike and ended up on trolley in local hospital (no mobile phones then and couldn’t remember name of hotel).

My leg was pouring blood and my kneecap had about 5 stones embedded in it.

So 2 male doctors came over to me. One either side of the bed. They each took one of my hands and gazed at me and asked what was the problem. Don’t worry, they said, your temperature is fine. Your blood pressure is fine. That’s grand I said. (All this time blood pumping out of my knee). You will be fine in 24 hours they said. Do you have any questions

Yes I roared

CAN YOU HAVE A LOOK AT ME BLEEDIN’ KNEE - IT’S KILLIN’ ME

This is a true story and I laugh when I think about it. The 2 lads insisted on bringing me back that night to the restaurant where we always had dinner and my 2 friends looked at me (big bandages, crutches, no sympathy) and said you’re late, we’ve already ordered.

So you can understand why I have an affection for that country. My name is Jean, but my pals call me Jeano for this reason

Listen to this

So beautiful


https://youtu.be/GwwsbEjmWjU

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.