lisachristie

By lisachristie

The Underbelly

A long walk today, and once again a little off the beaten track.   We walked up Old Ford Road, to Fish Island and the Olympic Park, a cut past Abbey Mills Pumping Station, through the backwaters of Bow and home via Bow quarter and the old Bryant & May matchsticks factory.  I have a lot of interesting photos, including one of a blue plaque that told me that Mahatma Gandhi stayed in Kingsley Hall (passed on my walk) in 1931. There is nothing commemorating the rather darker period in the Hall's history when it was used by RD Laing for some dubious-sounding experiments, and I wish I had a good picture of it to share.   This image was taken on the way home and both intrigued and depressed me, and I wasn't sure whether to post it.   Icke is an anti-semite and a notorious conspiracy theorist.   There is much better grafitti and far more to be inspired by in East London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.