Liver Bird And Liverpool

Mention of Liverpool always used to make me think of The Beatles. Now it brings my granddaughter to mind as she's there at Dental School. I visited Liverpool in around 1963 with my father for a wedding, just as The Beatles were becoming popular. The second and only other time I've been there was when my daughter and I were on our way to The Isle Of Man with the car club. I was fascinated by the verdigris Liver Birds on top of The Royal Liver Building which are said to be derived from cormorants.

Mention of Crosby has up to now made me think of Antony Gormley's Another Place statues in the sands. I wasn't aware that the town is on Merseyside. Today Crosby is on the map because of the third round FA game between minnows Marine and mighty Tottenham Hotspur. Someone whose garden overlooks the ground had a full-size cardboard cutout of Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp 'spying' on the game. I'm not interested in football but this fixture and story has given me a lift and I do have a soft spot for JK.

The 'Liver Bird' in my image flew over the lake this morning but didn't land like last time, again probably because of the ice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.