Plus ça change...

By SooB

16 candles

This morning started later than had been planned, as last night seemed to have tired me out more than expected. A pot of very strong tea had me powering through the birthday feast prep and it was all just done when CarbBoy appeared.

So finger sandwiches and sausage rolls were consumed, along with little kid treats and, of course, a chocolate cake. There were birthday crackers too, for no obvious reason. Long chat about youth slang, prompted by last night’s quiz, which gave CarbBoy a chance to educate us all on gamer speak. It’s like I don’t know my own language any more, or am I just being extra?

Later, a classic Sunday afternoon movie (Bringing up Baby) which TallGirl reviewed as “absurd”, more comedians, and jelly. I don’t typically have much success with moulded jelly, but today’s - in a Haribo tub in the shape of a bear - was a triumph.

So CarbBoy is sixteen, and can now vote in Scotland, but not here. And we spotted that he is now considerably taller than me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.