near the trail

I got out of bed at a reasonable hour because I was going to make blip folks coffee. I'm pretty sure I have the teleportation worked out but I forgot about the whole Covid restriction thing. 

Then I took Samuel off to Great Falls Park. While we've all been distracted by white nationalists trying to enact a bloody overthrow of a major world power with nuclear weapons, there is an adorable little bird in this park. It is a "male painted bunting, a bird known for its kaleidoscope of colors." https://www.washingtonpost.com/dc-md-va/2021/01/03/painted-bunting-great-falls-bird-watchers/


I didn't take my longest (heaviest) lens because I didn't really expect it to still be there. It is. Lock 17. 


I went down the path and it flew away. I hung out for a while but when I saw it was 1 pm I left because I had something I wanted to accomplish at home.


I actually went back at 5 pm. The bird had just left again. Kim was leaving as I came down the path. He'd shared lots of information earlier. He'd been there from sometime before 1 until 5 pm. That is the difference between someone who is really passionate and someone mildly interested. 


That said, the park is only 30 minutes away so I can make lots of tries on weekends until I see him. 


Marlieske, thank you for hosting. I have no idea how much time it takes but we appreciate it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.