dpitman85

By DennisP

BB-8

I bought a cheap-ish LED panel with some gift cards from Christmas.  This was from my first session playing around with it.  I've practiced flash photography for years, but there is a lot of trial and error with strobes since you can't see exactly where the light is going until you take the shot.  Using this LED panel, even though it was weaker than my flash, I could see where the light was hitting as I moved it and other objects.  After the first couple shots had a harsh reflection off this toy BB-8's plastic body, I figured out I could get a much softer reflection by bouncing the light off a sheet of white cardboard held above him.  If I was more careful, I would have noticed the little orange lights reflecting on his right side (from our very warm-colored living room lamp).  Anyway, still good practice, and I think I'll have a lot of fun practicing my lighting with this little panel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.